Forest Action Network
Working for a prosperous and just society which manages its natural resources sustainably
About F. A. N.
The Organization
»  Administration
»» Administration Staff
»  Our Contacts

Resource Centers

» About Resource centers
» Resource Centers

Our Partners


Presently, FAN has a membership of 2500 through which partnership and collaboration is developed and strengthened. FAN's collaborators are drawn from Community Based Organisations (CBOs), Learning and Training Institutions, Government Departments, the Media, Youth Groups and Women Groups. In the year 2009, FAN is closely collaborating with the following:


Anglican Church, Eldoret; Catholic Church, Kitale; Catholic Church, Kisumu; Catholic Church Homabay; Centre for Enviromental Legal Research  and Education (CREEL); Christian Community Services (CCS);  Cooperative for American Relief Everywhere (CARE); Danish Association for International Cooperation (MS Kenya); East African Wildlife Society (EAWLS); Eco News Africa (ENA); Egerton University;  Ewao Ngiro South Development Authority; Forest Department (FD);  Friends of Conservation  (FOC); Friends of Lake Victoria (OSIENALA); Friends of Mau Watershed Association (FOMAWA); Heinrich Böll Foundation (HBF); Intermediate Technology Development Group (ITDG); Institute for Law and Environmental Governance (ILEG); Kenya Association of Forest Users (KAFU); Kenya Agricultural Research Institute (KARI) – Njoro; Kenya Forestry Research Institute (KEFRI); Kenya Forests Working Group (KFWG);  Kenya Institute of Organic Farming (KIOF); Kenya Land Alliance (KLA); Kenya Wildlife Service (KWS);  Mau Community Forest Association (MACOFA); Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources; Ministry of Water and Irrigation; Ministry of Lands and Housing;  Moi University;  Mt. Elgon Forest Action Network; National Environment Management Authority (NEMA);  National Museums of Kenya (NMK);  Ogiek Welfare Council (OWC); Resource Conflict Institute (RECONCILE);  Resource Projects Kenya (RPK);  Schools Environmental Network (SENVINET); St. John's Community Centre; Vihiga Forest Association (VIFA); Western Kenya Tree Planters' Association (WETPA); World Corps – Kenya (WC-K) and Yatta Women Group.


Centre for Human Environment (CHE), Ministry of Agriculture Participatory Forest Management  (PFM) Programme


Dodoma Environment Network (DONET); Lawyers Environmental Action Network (LEAT); Tanzania Traditional Energy and Development Organisation (TATEDO); Tanzania Forest Conservation Group (TFCG); Tanzania Specialists Organisation on Community Natural Resources and Biodiversity Conservation ( TASONABI).


Budogo Forest Community Development Organisation (BUCODO); Environment Alert; Forest Research Institute (FORI); Integrated Rural Development Initiatives (IRDI); Karamoja Agro-Pastoral Development Centre; Karamoja Agro-pastoral Development Programme; Karamoja Initiatives for Sustainable Peace (KISP); Karamoja Resource Policy Centre; Kotido Peoples Initiatives (KOPEIN); Makerere  University (Forestry Faculty) ; Peace Programme for Pokots, Karamoja, Turkana Sabinys (POKOTUSA);


Centre for International Forestry Research (CIFOR);  Environment Liaison Centre International (ELCI); Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO);  Global Forest Coalition (GFC);  Regional Community Forestry Training Centre (RECOFTC); United Nations Development Programme (UNDP);  United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP); United Nations NGO Liaison Service (UN- NGLS); World Agro-forestry Centre (ICRAF); World Conservation Union (IUCN);  World Conservation Organization (WWF) and World Rain Forest Movement.

FAN Donor Agencies

FAN receives funding from various donors among them; the Department for International Development – UK (DFID); MS Kenya, Action Aid Kenya; the Interchurch Organization for Development Cooperation (ICCO); European Union/Care Denmark and the Royal Netherlands Embassy.